Vegetable binge continues.

I was gonna make a pot-pie using last weeks AMAZING CHICKEN. Pot-pie, specifically frozen, trans-fat, laden Banquet pot-pies, was my favorite as a kid and I was looking forward to using my homemade stock for something folksy. — The stock did in fact turn out all right. Anyway, I’m gonna make this pot-pie, did up the crust and then realized I did not have carrots. Since I was already leaving out the mushrooms, because mushrooms do not belong in a pot-pie, and I really like carrots – I’m putting off the pot-pie making until Thursday. At least the crust is started.

Photo 51.jpgAh, but what did you eat for dinner Katharine? Nice of you to ask. I tried to make caramelized sweet potatoes. Not “tried.” I’ve had many preparations of sweet potatoes in my day and found all of them delicious, because the sweet potato is an under-loved and delicious vegetable. These however, were not delicious. Yes they were gingery. But somehow the onions were burnt and parts of the potato were not cooked through. If I did not know what good sweet potatoes would taste like, I might have enjoyed this monstrosity. Since I know better however, I was unimpressed.

In my cooking exploits this evening I also injured myself. The sweet potatoes did not want to go quietly and required a great deal of force to cut apart. On one occasion the knife slipped and got my thumb. Not a full-bodied slice, but the tips of the serrated edge poked holes in my thumb. Since I was cooking for myself, and am a maverick, I bled on the potatoes. Hard-core.

Pot-pie tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a Reply

